Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint

Are you a spray-painter? If you are, and your home’s exterior could use some sprucing up, this post is for you. If you aren’t a spray-painter, guess what? This post is still for you.

I recently painted a front door for my son, Ross, and now his light fixture looks a little “off”. This is where the spray paint comes in.

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

The fixture is a nice shape, and I actually like the green—Statue-of-Liberty green as Ross calls it. But with his freshly painted black door, not only would a black light fixture look better, but it would just be more “Ross”.

First things first. We shut off the power at the electrical box. Then to remove the light fixture from the house we unscrew the little brass spheres. You can see the little brass ball in the photo.

  Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

After we remove the brass balls, this is what we have.

  Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

After removing the red electrical caps, I untwist the wires to separate them from each other, being sure to put the caps back on the wires coming from the house. We don’t want anyone getting electrocuted when Ross turns the breaker back on so he can watch TV.

  Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

The light fixture needs to be clean before I begin, so I give it a good scrubbing. Once it dries, I give it a light sanding, and wipe off any sanding dust. Then everything that shouldn’t get painted, needs to be taped off.

I’ve spray painted outdoor fixtures before where the glass could be removed, but I’m not so lucky this time. I tape around everything, being careful not to leave even the tiniest piece of tape overlapping onto the metal because if that happens, the green is going to show like crazy against the black. (A black Sharpie will become my very best friend if that happens.)

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

  Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I’m careful to completely seal off the interior of the light so no paint gets into the socket or onto the inside of the glass. This photo is of the underside of the light fixture.

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I put the wires in a plastic bag and tape it to the back so I don’t get paint on the wires.

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I’m using a black semi-gloss paint and primer in one from Krylon. It’s good stuff!

The most important tips for spray painting are to apply a few thin coats, allowing plenty of drying time in between. And to always, always keep the can moving when spraying. Even if you’re spraying a tiny spot, move the can when you press the button to spray!!

I spray very thin coats, and I bring the light fixture into my house to dry in between coats since it’s a little chilly outside. I’m wanting the paint to dry quickly so I can re-install the light fixture by the end of the day.

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Once it’s dry, I gently score the tape where it meets the metal before I peel it off so I don’t peel the dried paint off the fixture along with my tape. That would be highly disappointing.

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

  Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I re-install the fixture, connecting the black wire to the black wire, and the white wire to the white wire. It doesn’t get any simpler than that, folks.

So Ross got a “new” light fixture for the price of a can of spray paint. And we saved one more item from the landfill. And it gave me something to blog about.

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

  Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

For more photos and details about Ross’s simple porch update, click here…https://homestagingbloomingtonil.wordpress.com/2015/05/03/easy-front-porch-updates/.

This post was written by Tracy Evans who is a Certified Home Stager, Certified Redesigner and Journeyman Painter servicing the Central Illinois area. Feel free to visit her website at www.HelpAtHomeStaging.com to view her portfolio for more before and after pictures of her projects. And if you enjoy gardening, you may want to visit her gardening blog at MyUrbanGardenOasis.

4 thoughts on “Update Exterior Lights With Spray Paint

  1. Cinny says:

    Oh, oh, oh! You just gave me an idea!!! I think I will definitely copy you! 😄 I think I will match my front doors color for the porch light and two garage lights. I loved what you did for Ross’ front light and the door is absolutely beautiful with black in color!

    I love love your oh so simple projects that turns into something so beautiful and makes a huge transformations!

    Cinny

    >

    Like

  2. Margaret McKnight says:

    Ooooh aaaaaahhh!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

What do you think of this post? Any questions?

