Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table

Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

It happened again. I was minding my own business on my way home from running errands with my dog, Buster, and there it was. A baby changing table was on the curb, practically jumping up and down saying, “Take me home! Rescue me from landfill hell!” How could I refuse such a plea?

Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I’d been searching for quite some time for something I could use for a coffee table in my family room. You might be wondering why I didn’t just go out and buy one like most normal people. Reason number one—I wouldn’t necessarily consider myself normal, and reason number two—my family room is too “cozy” for a full-sized coffee table.

I’d been trying to get creative on this one. I was thinking a neat piano bench or maybe a sofa table cut down to size would better suit my space. But my curbside Guardian Angel, put me in the right place at the right time, and a baby changing table it is!

I loved the idea of a coffee table for this particular piece because it had a drawer and a lower shelf for storage. Those of you who are fellow small-space dwellers, know how important storage of any kind is, and I rarely snatch anything that doesn’t have storage in it, on it, or under it.

This was an easy transformation. I just cut the legs off with my $5.00 garage sale jig saw, and that’s all there was to it as far as structural alterations.

Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Of course, I fully intend to use the remaining pieces at some point.

Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I painted my new old coffee table black with my favorite premixed black paint from Sherwin Williams. It’s an interior/exterior paint that adheres to pretty much anything.

 Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

We had our first warm day on the weekend I planned this project, so I was able to paint outside.

Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

The holes where the screws were inserted didn’t have plugs in them, so I searched my plug stash and happened to have the exact size I needed. The plugs look infinitely better than the holes did.

Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Next, I looked through my drawer of miscellaneous hardware that I’d collected from various garage sales and old furniture projects, and my heart skipped a beat. I found these cute little danglies that were the perfect drawer pulls for my new coffee table. I decided to paint a small section of the hardware black to tie it in better with the table. Here’s a photo of one of the danglies before I painted it, and another one after painting.

 Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Here are my before and afters. You just gotta love free stuff!

 Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Baby Changing Table Turned Coffee Table / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I’m considering covering a cushion with some fabric to put on the top so that my new treasure could also be used as an ottoman. If and when I do, I’ll post a new photo. But for now, I’m loving it the way it is.

To see photos of other curbside finds I’ve refurbished, click here.

This post was written by Tracy Evans who is a Certified Home Stager, Certified Redesigner and Journeyman Painter servicing the Central Illinois area. Feel free to visit her website at www.HelpAtHomeStaging.com to view her portfolio for more before and after pictures of her projects. And if you enjoy gardening, you may want to visit her gardening blog at MyUrbanGardenOasis.

What do you think of this post? Any questions?

