Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom

We all love the look of board and batten, don’t we? Absolutely. I finally decided to add it to a short wall in my bathroom. I blew through this project like a crazy woman, and unfortunately didn’t take many pictures, but it’s such an easy process, there’s really not a lot to explain.

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

First, here’s my boring wall. Those of you who have ever made an attempt to take photographs in a tiny bathroom, know that it’s difficult, if not impossible to get good photos. In addition to straddling my toilet and sitting with my tush in the vanity sink to try to get decent angles, I have zip for natural light in this room, and color enhancement editing can only do so much. I hope you can use your imagination.

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Here’s the wood I purchased for this project, some of it I had on hand, so I can’t really give a price on the total cost, but it was minimal. Pictured below is the wood I purchased.

At the top of the picture is the pieces I used for the battens, which is called mull casing, measuring 3/8 x 2 inches. Many people on google used lattice, but this is a bit thicker (and unfortunately more expensive) than lattice, and was the exact thickness as the top of my baseboard. Perfect. Pictured under the mull casing is a 1 x 2 piece of vinyl trim, and then a piece of decorative trim, both of which were in my garage. Free! (sort of) The bottom piece is a pine 1 x 4.

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I cut all my pieces to size, primed both the wall and the trim, then put one coat of finish paint on them.

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

It’s highly unnecessary to paint a line this straight when it’s going to be one-hundred percent covered, but my OCD was kicking in. The photo is primer only.

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

First, I tacked up two battens at the ends of the wall, one by the shower and one by my closet trim so my top piece would have something to rest on while I installed it.

This next photo shows how the top was assembled. I first attached the 1 x 2 to the top of the 1 x 4 with finish nails prior to hanging the 1 x 4 on the wall. This was much easier and in my case, safer for the drywall to do this step first. Then I attached the 1 x 4 to the wall (and into the studs) with screws placed close to the 1 x 2 on top. I then added the decorative trim under the 1 x 2 with finish nails, covering my screws. Easy sneezy!

 Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Then I added the last two battens after doing some math (yuck) to determine equal spacing. I used a level to make sure they were plumb. I sunk all the nails, spackled the holes, sanded and then primed over them. I caulked every crack where two pieces of trim met, and where every piece of trim met the drywall with paintable caulk. For tips on caulking refer to my post, “How to Caulk Your Bathtub“.

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I added some cute little hooks from Hobby Lobby. You just have to love Hobby Lobby.

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Here are the before and after’s. Ta da!

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

This project didn’t take any time at all, but I only did one short wall. The rest of my bathroom is too chopped up with the vanity, toilet, shower, etc…to add this wainscoting to any of the other walls. It adds some interest to the bathroom and brightens it up. And with the hooks, it also adds some function. Love it!

If this isn’t your style, another type of wainscoting I’ve installed that’s a bit more formal is wall-frame wainscoting. Check out my tutorial here–Wall Frame Wainscoting Post.

This post was written by Tracy Evans who is a Certified Home Stager, Certified Redesigner and Journeyman Painter servicing the Central Illinois area. Feel free to visit her website at www.HelpAtHomeStaging.com to view her portfolio for more before and after pictures of her projects. And if you enjoy gardening, you may want to visit her gardening blog at MyUrbanGardenOasis.

2 thoughts on “Board and Batten for a Small Bathroom

  1. Cinny says:

    Love love love it! Amazing how you turn one very boring and dull waste of space to a beautiful lively cheery useful space! I love it! I want to do wainscoting for my whole house! I still would love to paint all of my orange trims to white and add more characters to my home. I love your blogs!

    Cinny

    >

    Like

What do you think of this post? Any questions?

