Paste Wax Wonder

If you have wood pieces that are looking tired and need to be restored, this solution may work for you!

I snagged this wooden bowl at a garage sale. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it, and when the seller told me it was only a dollar, my heart smiled. I’ve been looking for a nifty, non-breakable bowl (my dogs already killed a vase that was on my entryway table) to plop my keys and sunglasses into when I come in the door. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve misplaced my cell phone, and can never seem to find the t.v. remote, but at least now I’ll be able to keep track of my keys!

Paste Wax Wonder / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

I know it doesn’t look like much, but I have a “thing” for wooden bowls, toys, utensils and so forth. (I think I was a tree in a former life.) I bought it knowing it was going to take some elbow grease to get it to look nice. My not-so-new bowl would need to be sanded, stained, sealed, and varnished—the works. But since I loved it, and could clearly see its potential, I was willing to spend some time on it.

But once I started looking at this bowl a little closer, I realized either the finish had worn off completely or no type of finish was ever applied, so I decided ‘Plan A’ would be to try using paste wax on the raw wood instead of my original elaborate idea, which quickly became ‘Plan B’.

I’ve had this jar of paste wax for so long, I can’t believe it’s still good. Although I don’t know too much about paste wax, what I know for sure is that it will stay useable for ions if you keep the lid on tight!

 Paste Wax Wonder / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

So I started to apply the wax, and couldn’t believe how beautiful the wood on this old bowl actually was.

Paste Wax Wonder / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Paste Wax Wonder / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

And here she is completely finished. What a beauty!

Paste Wax Wonder / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Paste Wax Wonder / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

 Paste Wax Wonder / HomeStagingBloomingtonIL

Since I’m not a paste wax expert, I’m just guessing that over time, I’ll need to reapply more paste wax as it wears off or dries up or whatever it is that paste wax does over time, but I don’t care. I love my new, old, unbreakable, bargain bowl. A dollar? Seriously.

This post was written by Tracy Evans who is a Certified Home Stager, Certified Redesigner and Journeyman Painter servicing the Central Illinois area. Feel free to visit her website at www.HelpAtHomeStaging.com to view her portfolio for more before and after pictures of her projects. And if you enjoy gardening, you may want to visit her gardening blog at MyUrbanGardenOasis.

4 thoughts on “Paste Wax Wonder

  1. marsha schierbeck says:

    Beautiful I love wood too

    Like

  2. Tracy Evans says:

    Maybe we were in the same forest in our other lives!

    Like

  3. David B says:

    Have you tried tinting your wax with oil based stains? I am constantly amazed at the results of the finish it can create. After looking at your before and after pictures, I am going to unpack some wooden bowls and give them a new life.

    Like

What do you think of this post? Any questions?

